The Right Mindset

It might not be exactly the best time to write the post I’m writing about; it’s been a while since I have it in mind, but I’ve got sidetracked and I haven’t managed to do it sooner. So, I want to tell you about hygge. It’s not the first blog post you’ll find on this, it’s not a thorough perspective, it’s just that I feel it would be nice for anybody to know a bit about this concept and try to bring it closer to their home and their lifestyle.

Hygge it’s s Danish word, untranslatable in English (and in most languages, as a matter of fact), that represents the feeling, when alone or with friends, in an ordinary or extraordinary moment, of coziness and comfort. Denmark always ranks first as the happiest country and there’s a reason for this; some experts thinks it’s hygge.

I stumbled upon this concept one day in a bookstore when I found a book entitled “Hygge: The Danish Secret of Being Happy”; I bought myself the book and I started a little research on this praised Danish secret that has become worldwide famous. The best time for hygge is autumn and winter (I know, I’m lagging behind…) when the Danes spend their time inside, due to the fact they only have 4 hours of daylight. It’s the time to appreciate everything that brings coziness and a feeling of well-being such as a pair of wooly socks, a hot brewery, candles (the Danes are the ones that light the most candles in a year), duvets. During these months the Danes invite their friends over for a cooking session, a delicious dinner, and some board games. But hygge it’s not just this. It’s about feeling at ease with yourself, appreciate the small things, and make the most of the simple pleasures in life.  It’s in a way connected to the Buddist philosophy,  mindfulness, and slow living.

For me, finding out about hygge was a breakthrough. Thanks to hygge, I’ve started learning how to surround myself with hygge things and feelings, how not to care about the bad weather and enjoy a warm cup of tea inside, and how to find happiness in small things (don’t believe that I’ve reached the zen level, but it definitely resonated with me). As the hygge phenomenon has reached lots of countries, I’m posting here some resources for you if you want to see how hygge is seen by the French, the Americans, the Spaniards, and the very Danes.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

