On a Desert Island

Hi everyone! I know it’s been a while now, I’ve sort of got stuck in the middle of trying to do so many things at once, but I’m back on track now.

And I want that this year’s first blog article to be about a radio show I find absolutely amazing. It’s called Desert Island Discs. It’s broadcasted by the BBC 4 and dates back to 1942 when it was created by Roy Plomley. Now presented by Kirsty Young, the show has a simple format: a weekly guest is invited to choose eight records, a book and a luxury item (that is not necessary related to fashionable and luxurious stuff) to take with them on a desert island. You can have a look at the program here, trust me, it will worth it.

So, today, while I was taking a stroll into the woods, I was listening to a program of Desert Island Discs in which Kirsty Young’s guest was Caitlin Moran, whose outgoing personality caught my eye on the spot. Famous columnist at The Times, with the first book published at the age of 16 and now a bestselling author, Caitlin Moran is inspiring, full of life and speaks-her-mind woman. The eldest of the eight children of the family, Caitlin talks about her childhood, about England’s working class, about her teenage “rumpeteering”, about meeting her husband, writing, optimism and living. Check out the summary of the interview here.

I’ve absolutely loved her story and I admire her for her power to keep on going, for her contagious optimism and faith in life. Two phrases she said during the interview struck me and made me reconsider things. The first one was about her definition of poverty, about how it was for her being poor, her life as the eldest child in a crowded house and family. And she said “the smell of boiled potatoes and the combination of hot dust and chip fat on a curtain” and what especially struck me was her saying “not knowing what a dry towel was”. Could you think of anything more authentic than this? I’ve never even bothered to think about the fact that having a dry towel is not something I should take for granted, I’ve never seen it as something that could actually not be like this for everyone. So, yeah, a dry towel means comfort, means luck and living a good life.

The second thing she said that still lives in me is a quote from her book choice –The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13¾ by Sue Townsend (never read it, already on my wish list) when the boy’s mother tells him “You know what’s even more boring than other people’s problems? Other people’s dreams.” And don’t tell me you’ve heard lately anything more real than that! This is absolutely true, everybody should know this before jumping into a conversation about daily misfunctions and sharing future hopes and dreams.

Anyways, I’ve had a lovely Sunday morning listening to Desert Island Discs and discovering the amazing Caitlin Moran. And a nice afternoon searching more info about her and her books on the Internet. Here’s her blog and plenty of videos about and with her on Youtube.

“Life divides into two categories, amazing experiences, and then things that are awful but make incredible anecdotes.”- Caitlin Moran

 

Leave a Reply

